Indian Squad announced for ODI against New Zealand

India announced squad for One-Day International series scheduled to start later this month. MS Dhoni will lead the side with many senior players included while few players given much needed rest.

Selectors headed by MSK Prasad focused on recent performances of the players as players who performed well during A-Team Quadrangular Series have been included in the squad. Manish Pandey who captained “A” Team during Quadrangular series was leading run-scorer with 359 runs. Wicket-Keeper batsman Kedar Jadhav grabbed fourth spot with 254 runs.

Suresh Raina returns to the squad along with Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Ajinkya Rahane and Amit Mishra, who missed the Zimbabwe series in June. Mandeep Singh has been given place in the team looking at his decent performance recently.

Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul and Bhuvneshwar Kumar has been dropped because they are suffering from injury. Ishant Sharma who missed test series due to Chikunguniya is still in recovering process so he also misses out.

India squad (first-three ODI): MS Dhoni (C & WK), Rohit Sharma, Ajinkya Rahane, Virat Kohli, Manish Pandey, Suresh Raina, Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, Jayant Yadav, Amit Mishra, Jasprit Bumrah, Dhawal Kulkarni, Umesh Yadav, Mandeep Singh, Kedar Jadhav