Sreenath Arvind star in Hubli Tigers first triumph over Shivamogga


Hubli Tigers made a winning start to fifth edition of Karnataka Premier League (KPL) defeating Namma Shivamogga by 2 wickets in thrilling encounter. Sreenath Aravind’s fabulous spell of four overs which saw three wickets and conceded just 16 runs proved crucial and he was awarded man of the match award.

Chasing the target of 130 runs set by Namma Shivamogga, Tigers got off to flying start but back to back wicket of Abhishek Reddy (13 runs) and Stallin Hoover in fourth over halted proceedings. Mohammed Taha was cleaned up by Abrar Kazi before Hubli could mend their injury leaving Hubli Tigers struggling at 40/3.

Small partnership of 27 runs between Dikshanshu Negi and Kunal Kapoor brought some confidence in the side but KP Appanna turned fortune once again in favor of Shivamogga when he clean bowled Negi for 16 runs.

Four wickets in span of six balls left Hubli struggling at 107/8 when skipper Kunal Kapoor and Chethan William was send back by Abrar Kazi for 35 and 0 runs respectively. However, Vinu Prasad shown courage and strong determination in the middle to finish thing in the end with his courageous inning of 19-balls 22.

Earlier, Put to bat first Namma Shivamogga got off to solid start, Sadiq Kirmani and Nikin Jose added 83 runs for the first wicket but their scoring rate never picked up due to discipline bowling from Hubli Tigers. Once Nikin Jose (37 runs of 38 balls) got out none of the batsman dared to stay at the crease and scoring looked difficult.

They kept losing wickets in an attempt to accelerate the run-rate and in the end they could manage only 129 runs. Sreenath Arvind took three wickets while Stallin Hoover took 2 wickets.