Please enable JavaScript!
Bitte aktiviere JavaScript!
S'il vous plaît activer JavaScript!
Por favor,activa el JavaScript!

Saturday , 16 December 2017

Afghanistan set to debut at Lord’s against star-studded MCC

Afghanistan cricket team are set to feature in historic One-Day game at Lord’s against star-studded marylebone cricket club (MCC) on Monday (11 July, 2017). Visitors were recently awarded test status along with Ireland by ICC which certainly a big achievement at international level.

MCC squad comprises big names led by explosive batsman Brendon MaCcullum. Another big name is Kumar Sangakkara (Injured and Replaced by Sam Hain) who has been sublime form this northern summer with more than 1000 runs this year. He added another milestone to his bright career by scoring 100th century over all forms of cricket.

Having retired from international duty, perhaps spectators will see Misbah Ul-Haq for last time as batsman on the field. This fixture will see Caribbean viteran Shivnarine Chanderpaul along with England’s all-rounder Samit Patel who is currently busy in NatWest T20 Blast.

Wicket-keeping responsibility will be on former England’s wicket-keeper Chris Read. Durham seamer Chris Rushworth and Stuart Meaker will lead the pace attack along with Tim Murtagh and Stuart Meaker. Irish, left-arm orthodox will comprise spin department led by Samit Patel.

Meanwhile, Afghanistan will be playing for the first time at Lord’s. Their squad include potentially match winner in form of Rashid Khan who had brilliant debut Indian Premier League this year claiming 17 wickets. Mohammand Nabi, an experience campaigner reserves potential turns this with bat and ball.

Tourist will be led by Asghar Stanikzai who led his team draw three-match ODI series during their last outing in West Indies in June this year. Norr Ali Zadran and Javed Ahmadi are expected to open the batting while Rahmat Shah and skipper himself will compose middle order batting.

Pace attack will be led by Dawlat Zadran followed by Shapoor Zadran while spin responsibility once again comes on shoulder of rising star Rashid Khan.

MCC Squad: Brendon McCullum (C), Sam Hain (Replacing Kumar Sangakkara) , Misbah Ul-Haq, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Yasir Shah, Samit Patel, Chris Read (wk), George Dockrell, Chris Rushworth, Stuart Meaker, Tim Murtagh

Afghanistan Squad: Noor Ali Zadran, Javed Ahmadi, Rahmat Shah, Asghar Stanikzai(c), Samiullah Shenwari, Mohammad Nabi, Afsar Zazai, Gulbadin Naib, Rashid Khan, Dawlat Zadran, Shapoor Zadran, Nasir Jamal, Farid Malik, Shafiqullah Shafiq

[sc name=”code” ]
Your Comments are valuable to us

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *